Homemade Caramel Popcorn on a Saturday Night

Standard

About 8:00 Saturday night I got the urge to make some homemade caramel popcorn for Hubby and myself.  I have fond memories of when I was growing up this being a Saturday night treat while watching Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman and Walker Texas Ranger (CHUCK NORRIS YOU RULE!).  So off I went in search of a caramel popcorn recipe. I found one in my Betty Crocker cookbook and gathered all the ingredients. Of course I didn’t follow the recipe exactly because I didn’t remember my Mom putting our’s in the oven to dry it out. We ate ours right after she would make it and it would be all chewy and sticky.

I am going to type the recipe just like it is in my cookbook but make notes along the way of what I did.

  1. 15 cups popped popcorn (we used 3 mini bags of microwave popcorn)
  2. 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  3. 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  4. 1/4 light corn syrup
  5. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  6. 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Heat oven to 200 degrees. Place popcorn in a very large bowl. Heat brown sugar, butter, corn syrup and salt in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until bubbly around the edges of the pan. Continue cooking for 5 minutes with stirring, remove from heat. Stir in baking soda until foamy. Pour sugar mixture over popcorn; toss until evenly coated. (BE VERY CAREFUL HERE NOT TO GET IT ON YOUR HANDS). Transfer mixture to 2 ungreased rectangular pans. Bake 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Spread on aluminum foil or parchment paper. Cool completely about 30 minutes. Store tightly covered.

AS MENTIONED BEFORE  I DID NOT DO THE OVEN THING. MY MOM NEVER DID AND WE ENJOYED THE CHEWY CLUSTERS OF CARAMEL CORN FRESH FROM THE BOWL. I WOULD DO THE OVEN DRYING OUT IF YOU DON’T PLAN ON EATING IT ALL WITH IN COUPLE OF DAYS OR IF YOU HAVE BAD TEETH.

Peace, Love and Carmel Corn

Gingersnap

YUMMY YUMMY POPCORN GOODNESS

About gingersnap2011

Hello and welcome to my almost normal life. I'm a true southern belle through and through. I live in Mayberry right down the road from Opie. I channel Julia Sugarbaker, Wednesday Addams and June Clever. Thanks for reading, Gingersnap :)

4 responses »

  1. Julie and I really hate for Tom to have to be the guinea pig all by himself. Please feel free to call if you need other input;)

Leave a Reply

