Book Corner

Standard

I just finished a book called “ROOM” by Emma Donoghue and I have to say it is one of the most thought provoking books I have read in a long time. I doubt many of you will actually read this book but I will try not to spoil it too much. 

The book is written through the eyes of a 5-year-old named Jack who knows nothing other than the world his mother has created for him inside the 12×12 room they are being held captive in.  As you can guess they do get rescued or escape however you want to look at it. But what made  this book so thought provoking was if I was in the mother’s situation I don’t know if I could have handled it so will. She created a world for Jack that was so normal under the circumstances they were placed in. Jack thrived in this situation and came out normal.

It also made me realize how much stuff we take for granted in this world and what an injustice we are doing to the children of the future.  Around the age of 12 I was given an allowance each week for doing extra chores around the house not just normal stuff like making my bed, cleaning up after myself or helping with daily chores of the house. I hear so many kids now asking their parents what will you give me if I do these every day things that was just expected of me growing up. Believe me I am not for beating your kid but where did the belief go that you behave because it is what is expected of you or you will be punished.

Off my soap box I go and on to another adventure. Oh but one more thing before I go. I love the library and so hope that future generations can come to love the smell of cracking open a book that has taken many people on a journey.

Peace, Love and Library Books

Gingersnap

About gingersnap2011

Hello and welcome to my almost normal life. I'm a true southern belle through and through. I live in Mayberry right down the road from Opie. I channel Julia Sugarbaker, Wednesday Addams and June Clever. Thanks for reading, Gingersnap :)

Leave a Reply

