Hot Potato, Hot Potato

Standard

Here is a new recipe that I am trying tonight for dinner. I like it because it is a meal all in one. I am just going to steam some green beans to go on the side.

I have for the past couple of weeks been trying to on Sunday afternoons to cook at least 3 week nights worth of meals. That way all I have to do when I come in from work is heat them up or Hubby can heat it up if I am working late. Which with it being summer you can guarantee that at least 2 nights out of the week I ain’t home until at least 8:00.  Anyways enough of my whining about having to work 2 jobs.

Country Potato Salad

Ingredients:

  1. 2 pounds small, red potatoes (skins on or off what ever blows your skirt up) I actually just used a few out of a 5 pound bag of regular old white potatoes.
  2. 1 cup chopped celery
  3. 1/2 cup chopped red onion (I left this out until we were ready to eat it. That way the onions don’t over power the salad.)
  4. 1/2 pound lean smoked ham, cut into bite size pieces.
  5. 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (use the fresh)
  6. 2 tbsp chopped chives (again use fresh)
  7. 2 tbsp dill, (can use dried here)
  8. 3/4 cup nonfat buttermilk
  9. 4 tbsp sour cream
  10. 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  11. 1 lemon juiced, (use fresh)
  12. Salt and pepper to taste

Cut the potatoes into chunks (whatever size you can fit into your pie hole) and place them in a saucepan covered with water. Bring to a boil and cook until fork tender. Drain and rinse with cold water. This helps bring the temp of the potatoes down so you can mix it with the rest of the salad ingredients. While potatoes are cooling mix together the dressing in a blender. Take the parsley, chives, dill, buttermilk, sour cream, dijon mustard,lemon juice, salt and pepper put in blender and whiz away. Once all the herbs are blended in will stop the blender and taste for seasoning. When potatoes are cool enough to handle, put them in a large bowl with the celery, ham and onion (if eating right away) then top with dressing and mix. This can be made up to a day in advance just remember not to add the onions until right before serving.

The dressing is a cross between a green goddess dressing and a ranch to me. Hope you all enjoy this!

One Potato, Two Potato and Love,

Gingersnap

 

About gingersnap2011

Hello and welcome to my almost normal life. I'm a true southern belle through and through. I live in Mayberry right down the road from Opie. I channel Julia Sugarbaker, Wednesday Addams and June Clever. Thanks for reading, Gingersnap :)

Leave a Reply

